Graduates holding hands

2018 Event

YOU Made A Difference!

The 2018 Making A Difference Scholarship Benefit Dinner was a huge success! Together, we raised a total of $350,000! 100% of funds will go towards tuition assistance for deserving young women.

It is not to late to Make A Difference - please click HERE to make your gift today!

Please enjoy the videos from the event!Making A Difference Video 2018

Watch the videos honoring Catherine McAuley Award recipients - Eileen Horan and Mary Louise Castillo!

Watch the speech given by Gianna DeRanieri '18 on the night of the event!


Making A Difference sponsors

The Benefit is generously underwritten by the Board of Directors
(Sponsor list updated 4/23/18)


Mercy High School Board of Directors 2018-19

Annie Bianchini '90
Pauline Borghello, RSM
Judy Cannon, RSM
Cindy McDonald Dunleavy '81
Patricia Flanagan '65
Bob Grassilli, Chair
Karen Hanrahan, Head of School
Sarah Healy
Brandy M. M. Navarro '98
Joan Marie O'Donnell, RSM
Clare Pool Purpura '75
Caroline Romeo
Michele O'Conner Tyler '68


$25,000+ Catherine McAuley Sponsor


Norbert and Inger Bischofberger
The Carl Gellert and Celia Berta Gellert Foundations
Mattel Inc., c/o Children's Foundation
Vasant and Sumati Prabhu
Kai Ge Tang & Shuhong Fan

$10,000+ Platinum Sponsor
The Thomas Family
John and Juliette Torrey


$5,000+ Gold Sponsor

Matthew and Penny Stack Alexander '78
The Drum Foundation
Andy and Clare Pool Purpura '75

Charlie and Caroline Romeo


$2,500+ Silver Sponsor
John and Melinda Adams
Kelli and Peter Benz
Boston Private Bank and Trust
Meryn L. Brenner Foundation, Inc
Kathleen Lama '87

Scott and Martha Ann Milliken

Daniel and Brandy Martinez Navarro '98
Wayne and Catherine Dunleavy Rosaia '72
Aileen Whelan '76
Patricia Price Willis '58
Rick and Gale Winningham




$1,500+ Presidential Sponsor

Anne Bianchini '90
Elizabeth Caserza '77
Mary Louise Castillo
David and Maria Collins
James and Gina Rosaia Collins '99
Dino and Gabriella Bolanza DeRanieri '59

Charles and Noreen Dougherty
Kevin and Cindy McDonald Dunleavy '81

Jacqueline (Legorreta '75) and Christian Erdman
Junipero Serra High School

Paul and Joan Fitzpatrick

Eileen Horan
Kibblewhite Precision Machining
Mercy High School Alumnae Association

Kathy Lautze Krause '68
Mario and Katherine Lacunza Pompili '78
Maya Prabhu '19


Dino and Gabriella Bonalanza DeRanieri '59
Connie Romeo

Sr. Janet Ruffing, RSM, PhD '63

Sisters of Mercy of the Americas, West Midwest
Barbara Virgil

Alison Vorsatz '98
Min Zhang and Yan Lao





$1,000+ Bronze Sponsor
Irene Garibaldi Aubright '46
Angela Conde Barton '89
Beck Brothers - Becky Beck
KIrk Demlinger
Charles and Noreen Dougherty
Paul and Joan Fitzpatrick

Mary Lou Bisagno Flocchini '52

Catherine Casey Grabinski '86
Susan LePine Morro '59
Robert and Jackie O'Donnell

Michael Samn and Karen Lee

$500+ Blue & White Sponsor
Elaine Andrews '69
Peggy Anderws '68
Madeleine Ostertag Bucher '84
Peter Diaz
Kevin Domecus and Laura Brucken

Sarah and John Healy
Patricia McAdoo '65
Mercy Education System of the Americas
Kathy Mountain
Daniel and Brandy Martinez Navarro '98
Juan and Mercedes Navarro
Gina DeRanieri Weibe '84
Joe Nezwek and Jane Cavagnaro Unger '78

$250+ Crusader Sponsor
Janet Andrews '69
Val Armento '69
Val Armento '69
Rui Azevedo
Chrystelle Azcona '11
Betty Battaglia
Jeanne Biernat
Chuck and Patricia Bradley
Catherine L. Caserza '77
George Caughman

Melanie Meisel Cirigliano '73
Pat Casey
Shirley Cauterucio

Mary Jo Dungan Compton '64
Annette Dancel '89
Paul and Janie Dawes
Julie and Kurt de Grosz
Jennifer Fiore '89
Patricia Flanagan '65
Christine and Mike Folan
Carol and John Fraher
Robert Grassilli
Linda Micheli Gunn '67
Gregory and Patricia Hagey
Roxy Leung Halata '04
Michael and Deborah Harrison
Lynette Hovland '81
Dennis H. Irving
Evita Rapadas Isleta '99


Margaret Kane Jung '68

Darrell Justus
Mary and Hani Kaileh
Ann O'Brien Keighran '84
Jennifer Lambdin and Mark Schack
Mary and Lars Lund
Bridget Mannix
Teresa Martin
Lawrence and Michele McGee
Mercy High School - San Francisco
Michael and Sarah Murphy
Patricia O'Leary '73
Lorraine Paul '68
Luke Perkocha and Lena Wong
John and Nicole Piccetti
Patricia Schultz Rawert '60
Paul & Carolyn Rinetti
Kimberly Leung Robe '02
Lynn Rosaia '69

Angelina Dekker Schwab '95

Vashti Sinigayan '99
Monica and Paul Smith
Sandra Stoppoloni
Kirsten Strobel '96
Jphn Thomas
Michele O'Connor Tyler '68
Barbara Bushnell Vigil '61
Hazel Stergar Walton '63
June Wisecarver
Valiant W. Wong
Dennis Wootten
Jamila Sinlao Zinatte '04








Honorary Committee

John and Melinda Adams
Amy Bayley, RSM ‘68
Norbert and Inger Bischofberger
Marguerite Buchanan, RSM
Mary Louise Castillo
Clifton and Gretchen Clark
Gina (Rosaia '99) and James Collins
Jacqueline (Lergorreta '75) and Christian Erdman
Rosann Fraher, RSM
Eileen Horan
Will and Emilia Kibblewhite
Kathy Lautze Krause '68
Kathleen Lama '87
Father Michael Mahoney, OFM, Capuchin, OLA
Martha Ann and Scott Milliken, DDS
Charlie and Caroline Romeo
Janet Rozzano, RSM
Father John Ryan, St. Catherine of Sienna
Kathy Lacunza Pompili '78
Vasant and Sumati Prabhu
Casey Sternsmith ‘99
Sandi Stoppoloni
John and Juliette Torrey
Linda Thomas
Alison Vorsatz '98
Aileen Whelan MD ‘76

Steering Committee

Kelli Benz
Cathy Dunleavy Rosaia '72, Chair
Joan Fitzpatrick
Mary Lund
Clare Pool Purpura '75
Caroline Romeo